Liebster Award

It's an honor.
It’s an honor.

Signing into my blog this fine Sunday morning I was surprised to see a comment saying I’ve been nominated for the Liebster Award courtesy of the fine people from Just Another Heaven. First up I’d like to say thank you for nominating me. I didn’t think my blog was anything special, but if someone feels it’s good enough for an award, then I can’t say no to that.

So in accordance of being nominated, I’ve been given a series of questions I answer before nominating 11 other blogs and handing them a series of questions. So let’s start.

The Liebster award is intended to give some exposure to small blogs with less than 200 followers. The rules are as follows:

1. Link back to the blogger who nominated you
2. Answer the 11 questions given to you by the blogger who nominated you
3. Nominate 11 other bloggers with less than 200 followers
4. Go to the blogs you nominated and notify them of your nomination
5. Give your nominees 11 questions to answer.

____________________________________________________________________________

These are the questions provided by Just Another Heaven for me to answer.

1. What got you into the world of blogging?

Truthfully it started when I accidentally made a WordPress account to comment on a blog. Seriously I had no idea what I was doing at the time but since creating an account I thought over starting a blog shortly after. January 16th 2013 marks the birth of this blog.
2. Wow, you just scored $5. What do you spend it on?

Just $5 eh? Hmm… here in Canada that’s not going to get you far, but I’ll buy an Arizona Ice Tea and a Snickers chocolate bar. Hopefully 5 bucks is enough, I should add up the PST/GST too…
3. Pick an anime character to be for the rest of your life… And GO!

Hmm, I never think about questions like this, but somewhere deep inside me I knew one day I’d be asked this. I guess just because it was the first anime I ever watched, and one of my all time favorites, Kyon from The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya. I envy him at times.
4. Create a haiku about anything that starts with W.

Wait, what’s a haiku again? I think I did this in school… geez. It’s something with a 5-7-5 pattern, right? Uh… let me look this one up first. *runs crying to Google* Oh, I see. Right then- wait it has to start with ‘W’? There goes my idea. Hold up let me think again. Okay I’ve got one. Don’t laugh okay? I haven’t written one of these since grade 6.

Why did I think that
This would be so confusing
When it’s quite easy
5. Do you prefer liquid soap of a bar of soap?

If it’s for washing my hands, I don’t care. As long as it cleans my hands, that’s what matters. If it’s for taking a  shower, then I go Old Spice all the way.

Wait, I said that aloud?
6. If it meant it would solve all world hunger, war, disease and bigotry, would you spend the rest of eternity in Hell?

Geez, I thought the haiku question was tough. No mercy for me I guess.  Seriously that’s a question I could answer a few ways and lead this into a discussion that would have my blog removed by WordPress, but I won’t go there. As anti-social, couldn’t care much about things person as I am, solving problems like that is something everyone thinks about at some point or another. It’s an issue that’s plagued mankind for, well nearly forever, but if I could solve it as easily as doing something like that, then yes I’d spend eternity in Hell. On one condition: give me a computer, Internet connection, a comfortable chair and table to work at and I’ll be happy.
7. If you could replace one body part with a super bionic replacement, what body part and what features would it have?

Being a guy, I’m not going to make that joke most douche bags would make for this question; if your brain counts as a ‘body part’ then I’d like to get it upgraded so I’m better at math.
8. You can eliminate one of your five senses to substantially strengthen the other, which one would you eliminate?

Sight, smell, touch… uh….hearing… and… and… and… help me out here guys, it’s… taste. Yeah got all 5! *counts to make sure there are actually 5* Okay now that I’ve stumbled through that part, what’s the question again? Oh right, damn that’s a hard one to answer. I’d love to have better vision (as I currently wear glasses) but I like hearing things (music obviously), touching things ain’t so bad, I like the taste of pizza… but I like smelling things too. They’re all important but I think I’d have to sadly get rid of smell to have better vision. If you wear glasses then I’m sure you’d like having better vision too.
9. You found a new species of dinosaur in your backyard, what will you name the species, and which modern day animal would be considered its closest relative?

Living in an apartment building I don’t have a backyard exactly, but if I did find a new dinosaur species in my backyard I’d probably name it the… Skyasaurus. It’d be the most badass dinosaur ever. It’s closest relative would be the Komodo Dragon (because I’m pulling that off the top of my head) and some kinda salt water alligator (you know those crazy big 80 foot long ones they have somewhere that’s not in Canada).
10. Would you rather spend one year with your one true love just to never see them again, or the rest of your life with your second best?

*sigh* Glancing down at question 11 I feel this isn’t the hardest one. Honestly when it comes to things like relationships, love and all that jazz, I really don’t know how to approach it. On a day to day basis I give something like that little, if any, thought as I’ve got more important things that occupy my mind. Don’t get me wrong, I know, and value, the importance of such things as relationships and love, I understand all that perfectly but it’s just something I don’t worry about.

Sure there will be a time when I have less things problems to deal with and I might pursue a relationship, but as I’m not answering this question I’ll stop with the personal commentary. I’ve never had a girlfriend, I’ll put that out there, so I’m grasping for a way to answer this in a dignified way (if that’s still possible). My knee jerk reaction is the former of that question, I’m not sure why. Maybe the thought of spending the rest of my life with the person I loved second most just isn’t that appealing.

Whether or not there is actually something real to ‘true love’ I’m not sure, but if that is real I’d be inclined to spend one final year with the woman I love the most, even if I never saw her again. Going back for a moment, spending my life with the runner up would mean I’d always be thinking about my one true love (should she still be out there).

In that one year I’d have with my true love I’d make sure to create memories that would last me through my life afterwards. I’d spend everyday with her, treat her to anything she wants, have nice romantic dinners with her, and love her more than anything else in the world. During those final moments with her, I’d cry my eyes out telling her how much I love her and say that my life will never be complete without her beside me. Then I’d kiss her until she disappeared forever before falling to my knees and crying until I found enough power in myself to stand back up and walk away.

Okay you got me to nearly cry answering that question. I’m not joking. I’m trying so hard to keep my composure so my brother won’t look over and wonder why his older brother is sitting crying as he types away on the computer.
11. What does true happiness mean to you?

I’m not sure how to answer this question. True happiness. Does anybody know what that is? Money? Power? Fame? Nice cars? Big house? Everybody’s version of true happiness is different. For me I’m not sure what to say. Is true happiness achieved through doing something you love? I love writing but do I find true happiness in doing so? I love watching anime, but that’s not true happiness is it?

Borrowing from the previous question for a bit, I’d find true happiness spending it with the woman I love the most. Even if it was for one year. To me true happiness isn’t measured in how much stuff you have; I’ve read about people who have everything but still feel something missing. You could be the richest person in the world but if you’re lacking some core things, what’s all that money going to do? The people you hang out with are there just for that cash and the only girls you get are gold diggers. Where’s the happiness in that?

Give me a place to live, a car to drive around in,  some food in the fridge, a computer for e-mail, but most importantly the woman I’ll love forever and I’ll be happy. Even someone like me has to realize living a life in solitude can’t be good, no matter how much I might want that. People weren’t created to be alone forever, we need others to be there with us in life, even if it’s only for a short period of time. Maybe I’m just going in circles here, but I’m sure I’ve made my point more than enough times.

_____________________________________________________________________

There are my answers to those questions. I’d like to congratulate you too, you’re the first one to crack me open and get me to answer questions I avoid. This has been helpful for me more than those who will read this; I’ve learned something about myself that I try to keep hidden most of the time. Thank you guys, I needed that greatly.

The blogs I nominate are:

Sleeping Geeks (Nomination follow up post)

Kixkillradio

Pretense w/ Glasses

Kaori Speaks

My Blog Endeavour

My Story, Your Beats

Who cares about kids these days anyway? (Follow up post)

Strive for the Harem!

So yeah only 8 blogs (sorry), but I don’t follow that many to start with. Plus many already had over 200 followers.

And my questions for you guys are:

1: When and why did you start blogging?

2: Do you let your family know about your blog?

3: If you watch anime, what is your favorite anime, and why?

4: If you could have any car, what would it be?

5: If you had a time machine, what would you use it for?

6: Do you have a girlfriend or boyfriend, if so what do you like most about them? (if that’s too personal don’t feel you have to answer)

7: Have you ever been to Canada?

8: What’s your favorite movie?

9: If you could solve only one problem in the world today, what would it be and why?

10: When you’re going through a really rough time in life, how do you cope with it so you can move on with things?

11: Why is Batman the best superhero of all time? Explain.

Alright then, good luck with the questions and thank you once again for nominating my blog!

-SkyCorps

11 comments

  1. Great answers; each one made me smile. Your honesty is remarkable.

    There are my answers to those questions. I’d like to congratulate you too, you’re the first one to crack me open and get me to answer questions I avoid. This has been helpful for me more than those who will read this; I’ve learned something about myself that I try to keep hidden most of the time. Thank you guys, I needed that greatly.

    Oh, you’re going to make us cry 😥 We’re very glad that we could do something like that for you 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi! Thank you so much for nominating me. Really appreciate it. Could I ask a favor. Can you please change the name of Am I a GEEK? to Sleeping Geeks…? It’s just that we’ve just registered a domain under that name so we changed the name of the blog. Thanks.

    http://sleepinggeeks.com

    Like

  3. Thanks for the nomination haha, That was a very interesting read! Learned a little more about you.

    “On one condition: give me a computer, Internet connection, a comfortable chair and table to work at and I’ll be happy.”

    >well that wouldn’t really be hell then, would it? XD

    Like

Be sure to leave a comment!

