1 Year Later: The SkyCorps Blog Anniversary Post

Let's look ahead to the future. Let's dream big. Let's do something amazing.
Let’s look ahead to the future. Let’s dream big. Let’s do something amazing.

Looking back on a year from today, it’s hard to imagine that my blog and I made it this far, but I’m glad we did. Over the past year I’ve had a wonderful experience and I hope to keep it going into the future as well. I’ll have some refreshments at the end of this post too.

Probably on a day much like this, overcast with the chance of rain, I started my blog. I was a lonely 19 year old back then trying to make my way in the world (implying I’ve changed since…) and starting a blog seemed like a neat thing to do. I had no idea what would become of it, who’d read it or if anyone would even find it. But someone did, many people did and here I stand today (I’m actually sitting as I write this) with over 100 followers and over 130 posts. It’s amazing really.

Here I was, brand new to the blogging world, some punk kid with nothing to prove, and I actually created a pretty half decent blog. I’m surprised with myself really, thinking how I could never make it this far, especially after all that shit that happened over last summer, but I made it through somehow and kept a “level head”. I think blogging became my savior at some point, had I not decided to use my accidentally created WordPress account for this, I’m not sure where or what I’d be doing this cloudy afternoon on January the 16th of 2014. So really then I’ve got a lot to owe WordPress. When I get some more money I should buy a Premium Account for a year, so I can show my appreciation.

Along my path to creating The SkyCorps Blog, I was met with challenges, mostly as I was so new to all this I had no idea what the hell was even happening. I struggled with content and trying to figure out what I would be blogging about, making sure I wrote each post in a coherent way and didn’t have any stupid spelling errors, just really basic stuff that I should’ve already been good at. Once I started getting followers it was pretty exciting, seeing that people found my blog and liked it enough to follow it for more posts. I knew that I couldn’t slack off with this now that people were watching, they expected me to deliver and I didn’t want to disappoint them.

Through the months and other problems that came up, lack of Internet being the main one, I had to adapt to the issues and make it through somehow. Things went from bad to worse though, I had to keep reminding myself that maybe something nice would come from all this. But I kept on it and preserved my sanity long enough to make it to this point. Who knew blogging would be so hard in other parts of your life?

So a long story short: this blog is my life. I don’t know what I’d do without it. It’s the only place I can fully open up and just speak what comes to mind. That’s probably why I never tell my family about this, I doubt they’d approve of my ranting ways and such. But through all the hardships and family problems I’ve dealt with, I’ve kept this blog alive and running, even if there is a while between posts I’ll never let this blog die.

At this point I’d like to take a look at a few numbers, seeing how far I made it in one calendar year.

By the day stats
By the day stats
More by the day stats
More by the day stats

By the country stats. USA obviously had the most, followed by Australia, Netherlands, Canada and Germany.

Nice world map view.
Nice world map view.
More stats of the world
More stats of the world
Last of the countries.
Last of the countries.

Now the moment we’ve been waiting for, the search terms. A while ago I made a post about all the wild search terms people use and somehow end up on my blog. Well take a look at these crazy ones, which one is your favorite? Also, what kinda search terms do you get for your blog? (if you have a blog).

And I guess the final stats I have to mention:

All time views: 3632

All time comments (excluding mine): 101

All time comments including mine: 143

__________________________________________________________________________

So there you have it, 1 year after starting this blog and I’m going strong. Thanks for taking the time to read this and thank you so much for sticking with me this long. I know it’s probably not the most exciting blog out there, but everyday life isn’t always that exciting. I’m always happy to see more new people following my blog and enjoying my posts and I hope that in another year I’ll look back and have a huge increase in things.

Before you guys go, I said there would be refreshments.

Kotori has a few tray's of something tasty to eat.
Kotori has a few tray’s of something tasty to eat.
Kurumi reminding you to drink your milk too.
Kurumi reminding you to drink your milk too.

Thanks for staying with me this far and I hope to see you here next year! Thanks guys, I couldn’t do this without you!

Until the next post!

-Nick

8 comments

  1. Haha you’ve got some interesting search terms. It’s SO ODD that there are lots of naked anime girl searches, I CAN’T IMAGINE WHY! Most of my search terms are boring lyrics and download ones, but now and then I get some weirdos like
    – hentai menace melth (WTF?)
    – digimon mail
    – na na na na na na na na na happy female acoustic song
    – tsukiyo no hikari mp3 download (um… this is not a download site)
    http://www.rap&hot gils.com
    – fashionable mad scientist
    – 2013 song with girl singing ooo ooo ooo and deep guitar
    Anyway that’s a quick selection from my boring stats. Congratulations on a year of blogging!

    Like

    • hentai menace melth…?

      Wha… what? Why would anyone search for that in the first place?

      I think most of the “hot naked anime girls” search terms come from the assortment of pictures I like to use with each post. I can’t help it if I like a picture of a cute anime girl. But I’m not sure how the “naked” fits into that. I’ve got no nudity on my blog…

      Anyways, thanks for the comment!

      Like

  2. Congrats on your first year of blogging! Keep up the good work and you will like it even more! I totally feel you with the way the blogging lifestyle changes your everything in reality, there are always times where I feel that I just have to put the blog on the top of my “to do list”.

    Over the years I have learned so much from this hobby of blogging – it became something much more than just a hobby, it is something I have to do once in a while to stay alive.

    At the start of my blogging journey, I didn’t let anyone know about my lifestyle of blogging, especially my family. However after some time when I got more confidence in my blog and readers, I am more ready to share it with people around me, even my parents and family. I made it clear of what I actually do, (Actually more than just blogging anime reviews but also as an overall on the internet with catching of media attention and industry product reviews).

    It may be awkward initially but when they start to understand what I do and why I enjoy doing so, they are all very cooperative and have a certain degree of support for what I am doing. Even my friends are reading my blog right now, and they are actually sharing it with their mates, spreading words and in turn increasing my number of audiences. I am surprise with what is happening and there is definitely nothing to lose, thus I will encourage you to be open with your blogging desire! (^_ ^ ).

    Don’t really look at my stats since the performance are always changing and discouraging at times, let’s see what search terms I get this month:

    境界の彼方 クイズ Quizoxy壁紙
    蒼き鋼のアルペジオQuizoxyクイズ感想まとめ
    Quiz Quizoxy凪のあすから Review and Wallpapers
    QuizoxyクイズPixiv

    Numbers of views have been low lately, probably due to my drop in posting frequency, can’t excuse myself for that!

    Quizoxy.

    Like

    • Thank you for the comment!

      I hope at some point in the future I will tell people close to me about this blog, I’m just still not sure how they’ll react, so that’s probably what’s holding me back the most. I know there will be the right time though.

      Thanks again for the comment!

      -Nick

      Like

  3. I’m smiling like an idiot at this: you really haven’t changed at all, but you did at the same time. I know how you feel about the whole blog thing, I’m running 4 blogs at the same time, and you have no idea how hard it was for me to even think about deleting this blog. Can’t believe I really wanted to do that, what an idiotic idea.

    Congrats on a year, Sky! And may many more years be on the way! Haha, when’s your birthday? I’ll already look out for some rad Miku pictures for you to enjoy! ^w^
    Can’t wait until you turn 20, honestly, I’ve been looking forward since forever for that one post to come where you talk about how you feel even MORE like you should you do something useful with your life. Can’t wait until you say that ‘age is really just a number’. (Well, you probably won’t say that but, the idea is nice)

    Good luck with your blog! I’ll just keep following it and spamming you on twitter, haha! Have a great day, you deserve it! ^w^

    Emma

    Like

    • Aww, thanks for the sweet comment! That really means a lot to me!

      Running 4 blogs at once, wow that sounds like a job. I’ve only had this one, but if given the chance or if I had another idea, I’d start another blog about something.

      And since you asked, February 19th, that’s my birthday. Geez, that sounds so strange when you say it, turning 20. Man I can’t believe I’m nearly at this point in life already. I seriously have no idea what I should be doing. School, getting a job, I’ve known the day would come but I still can’t believe it’s almost here. I’m sure by the end of this year I’ll have a clear goal in mind of what I’m going to do with my life, hopefully I’ll have a job by then too…

      Anyways, thank you for your comment, kind words like that are really what keep me going and blogging here. I look forward to your picture spamming you do on Twitter, always a fun time, get’s me laughing like crazy.

      Thanks again Emma, have a nice day and I’ll cya around.

      -Nick

      Like

  4. Congratulations on reaching 1 year! You have a great blog, so you very much deserve all those followers, page views, comments, and… those odd search terms. Most of my search terms are appropriate, music-related ones, but here’s a random one I got: “its my birthday and my friends says happy birthday and what is my response?”

    Congrats again and keep posting, Nick! (*^▽^*)

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment!

      I’m happy I made it this far and I really look forward to getting another year of blogging in. I’ve got a few plans for maybe a new blog, but I’ll discuss that in an upcoming post.

      Thanks again for the comment and following my blog!

      -Nick

      Like

Be sure to leave a comment!

