Doing a good deed

quote-Benjamin-Franklin-it-takes-many-good-deeds-to-build-102939It’s been a while since I last had a blog post here, so I guess I should write something.

So a few days ago as my sister and I were on our way back from the store, we notice the woman pushing a dolly cart with a large box on it towards her car. Passing her we continue on but I happen to glance back and realize something about this woman, she’s pregnant! Okay I really wonder how she was planning on lifting this box into the trunk of her car, but whatever the case was I wasn’t going to stand and watch her do this. Putting down my bags I offered to lift the box and put it in the trunk for her. She was very surprised and happy to see the both of us stop and come back to help her, but after setting the the box in the trunk of her car, I had this really good feeling inside, like I had done the right thing.

Sure it was just something small, but the fact that this woman was pregnant really motivated me to do something. And yes, I’ll also add the even if a non-pregnant woman was about to lift a large box into the back of her car, I’d still have stopped and offered to do it for her. It’s just the right thing to do, helping someone like that out; I honestly don’t understand how someone could just keep walking when a woman clearly needs a hand with that. Also, the guy in the store who loaded the box onto the dolly for the woman, why the hell didn’t he offered to help? Seriously what a fucking douche bag for not helping her out. Geez, it’s people like that who are just a waste of space on this planet.

But the whole situation also got me thinking about why don’t you see more people helping each other out like that? Random acts of kindness go a long way and we should all realize that. Not just towards people of the opposite sex, but to everyone. Sure if it was a guy lifting the box into the car I probably wouldn’t have stopped to offer help as he could probably easily manage it (the box wasn’t even that heavy, just big and awkward to lift) but if it something like holding the door open for someone and returning a debit card to a person who forgot it in the machine when paying for something, things like that should just come naturally to us.

What about you, do you step up and do something nice for a stranger at times? Do you have a rewarding feeling after? Sound off in the comments!


I’ve got an anime blog where I’m spending lots of time these days, why not drop by and have a look?

I’m on Twitter if you’d like to follow me too!

-Nick

 

One comment

  1. “Also, the guy in the store who loaded the box onto the dolly for the woman, why the hell didn’t he offered to help? Seriously what a fucking douche bag for not helping her out. Geez, it’s people like that who are just a waste of space on this planet.”

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    Like

Be sure to leave a comment!

