August Post a Day Challenge Day 17: The End of Amazing

end of pixiv

Damn it!

So today I learned the sad news that Pixiv.com will be closing at the end of August. Sucks I know, I really loved that site too. But fear not, Pixiv is not gone for good; the .net version of the site, the main version, will still be here as the only version now.

I know there isn’t much to do about it closing down, but I still really like the .com layout over the .net one; to illustrate this, I’ve gotten screen shots to show the difference of the two sites. I’ll show first the .com version, then the .net version.

General Feed Page
It's pretty simple here, things are laid out pretty well.
It’s pretty simple here, things are laid out pretty well.
The fact the new pics section isn't there on the right really bothers me. I like switching to new pics right away, instead of having to take the long route to get to them.
The fact the new pics section isn’t there on the right really bothers me. I like switching to new pics right away, instead of having to take the long route to get to them.

New Pics Page
The huge factor here is how easily you can view the pics. All you need to do is click at it pops out.
The huge factor here is how easily you can view the pics. All you need to do is click at it pops out.
While it's cleaner here, the fact you always have to open a new tab just to view a pic isn't all that nice. I want to be able to stay on one page to view all the pics, not opening new pages just to fav/add to bookmarks.
While it’s cleaner here, the fact you always have to open a new tab just to view a pic isn’t all that nice. I want to be able to stay on one page to view all the pics, not opening new pages just to fav/add to bookmarks.

Viewing a Pic
Sexy Kotori, yes I know. So it's a nice layout here, very clean and simple with lots of room for the pic.
Sexy Kotori, yes I know. So it’s a nice layout here, very clean and simple with lots of room for the pic.
Down below you've got the comments, other pics by the artist, and related pics in the side scroll bar. Overall it's just a nice set up here. You can also Like, Fav and all to bookmarks all in this page too. Very handy.
Down below you’ve got the comments, other pics by the artist, and related pics in the side scroll bar. Overall it’s just a nice set up here. You can also Like, Fav and all to bookmarks all in this page too. Very handy.
Huge problem is you have to leave this page to add to bookmarks. Meh, so not a fan of that. Having all the artists tags on the left isn't needed and adds to the clutter overall. The share buttons being on the top aren't that nice either.
Huge problem is you have to leave this page to add to bookmarks. Meh, so not a fan of that. Having all the artists tags on the left isn’t needed and adds to the clutter overall. The share buttons being on the top aren’t that nice either.
Down below having the weird pics in the comments are kinda silly but if that what's they like... then so be it. Personally I don't like it too much. The bottom half on the .com site looks a lot cleaner compared to this.
Down below having the weird pics in the comments are kinda silly but if that what’s they like… then so be it. Personally I don’t like it too much. The bottom half on the .com site looks a lot cleaner compared to this.

Profile Page
So as I haven't uploaded anything here, it's quite stark. Personally I don't really look at my own profile page really, so it's no issue. I like this though as normally that empty spot would have pics and just look like most of the other pages, like the new pics page. Still easy to navigate and look at/Like/fav/add to bookmark pics easily.
So as I haven’t uploaded anything here, it’s quite stark. Personally I don’t really look at my own profile page really, so it’s no issue. I like this though as normally that empty spot would have pics and just look like most of the other pages, like the new pics page. Still easy to navigate and look at/Like/fav/add to bookmark pics easily.
So it shows more here which I guess could be better, but honestly I don't have that much an issue with the profile pages. They each are good in their own ways.
So it shows more here which I guess could be better, but honestly I don’t have that much an issue with the profile pages. They each are good in their own ways.

So after all is said and done, I still like the .com version the best. It’s easier to navigate, less cluttered and things are just so simple and easy to use there. The .net version has things I don’t really like about it, the fact you always have to go to another page to view a pic instead of it just popping out and you can do everything there. I also really like the infinite scroll feature on the .com version. On the .net site, especially when on an artists page, you always have to click to the next page to keep looking at their pics. With the .com site, you just scroll down and everything is there.

I could go on for a while about why I like the .com site, but this is just how it’s going to be now, like it or not. If you’re on Pixiv, which site do you like more and why? Let me know in the comments!

Here’s that Kotori pic by the way, I know you were eyeing it.

So sexy!
So sexy!

**Pixiv Link!**


Justin and I are always busy over at my anime blog, Anime Corps. Why not stop by and check it out?

If you’re on Twitter, be sure to follow me for tweets about all kinds of things. Random pic spams included too.

If you noticed any spelling and/or grammar errors, please let me know so I can fix them. Thanks!

-Nick

2 comments

Be sure to leave a comment!

