August Post a Day Challenge Day 22: I’m in a manga! For real!

Believe me yet?

Starting in September of 2012, Dark Horse began releasing Oreimo, a manga version of the light novel, in North America. I like Oreimo, as that may be apparent, so when I saw this I decided to pick it up, because why not?

So I read the first 2 volumes and as I was waiting for the 3rd volume to come out, I decided to write an e-mail to the Off-Kai section at the back, just saying I enjoyed it.

I’m at Chapters the other day and I see volume 4 there, the last volume in the series. Why only 4, well there are reasons for everything. So I flip through it and end up at the back, where the Off-Kai section is. Guess what, my e-mail is the one featured.

I look up and around the bookstore to see if anyone has noticed this smile that’s spreading across my face, thankfully no one has, but as I look back at the manga, yes it really is my letter that I wrote. If you don’t believe me, then here is proof, the actual e-mail I wrote.

in a manga

If you’re near a book store that sells manga, pick up a copy of Oreimo volume 4 and flip to the back, you’ll see that same letter there.

Maybe this isn’t all that amazing for you, but I found it pretty damn cool that out of all the people who probably wrote in, they picked mine to publish in the manga. Looking back at it now it’s not the greatest letter I’ve written, I could’ve done a better job putting words together, but nevertheless they liked it enough to put it in and now it’s published.

DSC_0056

Needless to say, I bought the last copy they had at Chapters, even though it was a little beaten up around the edges.


Justin and I are always busy over at my anime blog, Anime Corps. Why not stop by and check it out?

If you’re on Twitter, be sure to follow me for tweets about all kinds of things. Random pic spams included too.

If you noticed any spelling and/or grammar errors, please let me know so I can fix them. Thanks!

-Nick

4 comments

  1. HOLY SHIT YOU’RE LIKE ONE OF THOSE PEOPLE SKY YOU SHOULD WRITE FOR THE ENGLISH VERSION OF FAUST N SHIT TOO OMGGGF

    Like

  2. […] 2: I’m in a manga. No seriously I am. Not as a character or anything, but I wrote into the publisher following up on some question they had in the previous issue, and my response was published. Looking back on it now I could’ve done a better job with it, but at the time I wrote it, it seemed fine. Details can be found here. […]

    Like

Be sure to leave a comment!

