Into the City with Nick: I Was There!

I was there!
I was there!

Spoiler alert, you will become very hungry reading this post.

Consider yourself warned.

Let’s start!

Super delayed post from a trip that actually took place on August 22nd. Yeah, I’m just now getting around to posting it. Sorry.

Up early and out the door, I was ready for another adventure into the city! As usual my destination was the province’s capital city Victoria for the day. It was mostly just to tag along with my mom as she was going for a doctors appointment, but I haven’t been into the city for a while.

This time though I had my brand new Sony Xperia Z2 Tablet that I could take with me to keep myself entertained for the day. I also happened to snap a few pics along the way, as I’m sure you found out. This will pretty much be a photo post with me giving context to each pic. So how this all began, well lets take a look at the first pic then.

Early morning sitting in the bus stop across from the store.
Early morning sitting in the bus stop across from the store.

So the bus left at 6:30AM to be in the city by around 7:40AM, give or take a bit because of the morning traffic. A running theme is that I took pics of every time I was in a bus sitting at the back. Here’s the first one.

In the bus about to leave for Victoria.
In the bus about to leave for Victoria.

So once the bus pulled away from the station I got the latest ep of Tokyo Ghoul rolling as I was planing on watching that. After that I just sat back and looking out the window the rest of the way there. There was this rather cute girl who sat across from me for the duration of the trip, and I honestly did consider trying to talk to her, but then I noticed a ring on her finger, then noticed the wall paper on her phone of her boyfriend or husband (one of the two) and was like “nope”.

Note the ring on her finger.
Note the ring on her finger.

I saw this car crash too. Well not actually “see” it, but I saw the clean up from it. Funny thing though, this crash happened pretty much right in front of the Victoria General Hospital, so the ambulance did have to drive that far.

No rabbits, only crashing.
No rabbits, only crashing.

The morning rush hour was pretty much what you expect on a Friday morning into town. Here are a few pics of that.

Uptown Mall, the big new mall just north of town. It's pretty badass actually.
Uptown Mall, the big new mall just north of town. It’s pretty badass actually.
Passing Mayfair Mall (not pictured but to the left) still in traffic.
Passing Mayfair Mall (not pictured but to the left) still in traffic.
The new Volvo dealership here. I was actually trying to take a pic of the Audi TT Coupe parked out front.
The new Volvo dealership here. I was actually trying to take a pic of the Audi TT Coupe parked out front.

Once we had arrived at the stop and exited the bus, the first order of business was to get food.

Hungry yet?
Hungry yet?

Here are some funny tweets sent while eating.

Made a few people upset with that tweet as I do with all my food related tweets. Click on it to see all the replies and such, they’re petty funny.

The majority of the tweets and pics are from my time at Hillside Mall, lots of stuff happened there. But before that, I had to grab some bus passes for mom and I.

DSC_0022

Scratch and win!
Scratch and win!

A nice shot of The Bay Center interior.

DSC_0024
Random tarot and palmist table set up. Okay…

Here are some pics en-route to Hillside Mall.

Another back of the bus shot. Sadly not the newer bus though.
Another back of the bus shot. Sadly not the newer bus though. My mom on the right of the pic.
You can see that M-Class with the pretty badass rims out there.
You can see that M-Class with the pretty badass rims out there.

I spent probably an hour and a bit at the mall, looking at stores and stuff. Here’s an overview via Twitter of how it all went.

DSC_0027
Not all of it, as there was more, so this is just a small portion.

lol they had Attack on Titan there.
lol they had Attack on Titan there.

DSC_0029
Yay it’s Date A Live!! On Blu-Ray too!

Random Batman hat that was pretty cool.

DSC_0030

Other things I saw at the mall, the chocolate store.

DSC_0031
So much good stuff here. This is only one of the many displays of chocolate they had. Not to mention ice cream too.

Badass!
Badass!

More Attack on Titan stuff. Geez, it's fucking everywhere.
More Attack on Titan stuff. Geez, it’s fucking everywhere.

DSC_0034

https://twitter.com/Kanade_loveX/status/502867322726797314


Once we had finished at Hillside Mall, we headed off to my grandparents place. Pic of the way there.

Getting stylish with that wood paneling there!
Getting stylish with that wood paneling there!

Had some some chocolate there too.

DSC_0036

DSC_0037
Look at ’em all!
Strawberry Cream
Strawberry Cream
That creamy inside.
That creamy inside.
Almond Carmel
Almond Carmel
That carmel-y inside.
That carmel-y inside.

And now a quick house tour. Their place is really, really nice by the way.

DSC_0042
The Sun Room
DSC_0043
Front living room
DSC_0044
Downstairs living room
DSC_0045
Complete with a bar too.
DSC_0046
The Blue Room, not so blue after the reno though. That bed by the way is massive. Biggest bed I’ve seen in a while.
TV in their bedroom. Blu-Ray player on the left of the TV, not sure you can see it here.
TV in their bedroom. Blu-Ray player on the left of the TV, not sure you can see it here.
The kitchen.
The kitchen.

Leaving my grandparents house, it was back downtown to actually meet up with my grandmother (as she wasn’t actually home, someone else was). Here’s a pic en-route back into the city.

One of the new buses for once!
One of the new buses for once!

Here are a few tweets from at The Bay Center, lol the responses that these tweets generated, hilarious!

I also finally had lunch up stairs in the cafe inside The Bay. Really nice place actually, I highly recommend eating there if you’re ever downtown.

Nice view from the window.
Nice view from the window.
Beef dip with fries. So delicious!!
Beef dip with fries. So delicious!!

I went to Chapters after this where I bought a manga, that being Oreimo volume 4; I also discovered how a letter I wrote in to Dark Horse actually got featured in it too, something I was totally amazed by. Needless to say I bought that manga as I was apart of it. You can read the full report on that in this post here.

Shortly after that it was time to go home. All in all it was a full day that started so early but it was totally worth it. I look forward to my next trip into the city as I always enjoy them so much. Here are the final pics.

Really cute girl sitting in front of me.
Really cute girl sitting in front of me.
Back where er started.
Back where er started.

Bonus tweets/pics from dinner at A&W later that evening.


Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed this picture filled post of my adventure into the city!

I’ll cya in the next post!


Justin and I are always busy over at my anime blog, Anime Corps. Why not stop by and check it out?

If you’re on Twitter, be sure to follow me for tweets about all kinds of things. Random pic spams included too.

If you noticed any spelling and/or grammar errors, please let me know so I can fix them. Thanks!

-Nick

Be sure to leave a comment!

