A Close Shave

Razor sharp Pixiv Link
Razor sharp
Pixiv Link

You can dock points for lack of original title if you feel that inclined.

Here’s a really manly topic: shaving. Yes I’m sure most of you guys who’ve reached that age to grow facial hair are also probably shaving, unless you’re going for that bearded look. Anyways I shave on a regular basis (sometimes I go longer between shaves) and something I’ve noticed is that those disposable razors just don’t cut it. Pun intended. I’ve tried a few things at this point including an electric shaver as well, but even that wasn’t working for my face. Apparently my skin doesn’t take kindly to crap shavers. So in my quest to get the best shave I decided to look to the past as sometimes the old ways are the best. Enter the safety razor.

What, you thought I’d say straight edge? Nah I’m no where near the level of skill. I’d slit my own throat and bleed out in the bathroom within minutes of attempting a shave. But if you do use one then I take my hat off to you as that’s some real skill and you’ve got some balls to do that too. But anyways I decided to try out a safety razor as they seem to be where it’s at these days. After a visit to House of Knives in Hillside Mall and a small fortune later, I had myself all the gear (nearly all of it I still need the holder) and I was ready to cut hair off my face with a piece of sharp metal.

Thoughts after my first time with the safety razor: pretty good. Yes I cut myself a couple times, that much was expected, but I didn’t lose that much blood and I’m still alive and breathing, which is a huge plus too. But I did notice a great improvement from the usual shave and I liked that part a lot. I got a lot closer of a shave and my skin was left feeling extremely smooth to the touch. With a little more practice I’ll be able to shave faster and cut myself less too. All in all I’m happy with this purchase and I’m now enjoying shaving a lot more.

So enough talk, here are the pics of my shaving gear I got.

Here's an overview of it all.
Here’s an overview of it all.
The shaver
The shaver
Brush
Brush
Mug + soap
Mug + soap
Extra blades
Extra blades
Bonus stuff
Bonus stuff

So I should also mention that the razor is German built, so you know it’s gonna be good too. Here’s an up close look at the razor.

So this is it!
So this is it!
Another look at it.
Another look at it.
It's got a nice weight to it and I like the grip too.
It’s got a nice weight to it and I like the grip too.
You unscrew it and throw in the blade in.
You unscrew it and throw in the blade in.
Another angle of it all opened up.
Another angle of it all opened up.

Next up is the brush. Now normally you’re supposed to have a brush that made solely of badger hair, but as those were I bit too expensive for me at this point in time, I opted for a less expensive brush but even so it was $32. I decided to stick with the black theme with the brush.

So here's the brush!
So here’s the brush!
All fuzzy and such.
All fuzzy and such.
Mixed badger hair.
Mixed badger hair.
Compared to my man hands.
Compared to my man hands.

Lastly we have the mug and soap. I decided to with the almond soap as I liked the smell of it the best. Honestly it’s really something you need to smell in person as it’s got such an amazing smell to it. And you’ll notice the black theme continuing here.

Colonel Conk soap. Very good stuff.
Colonel Conk soap. Very good stuff.
The mug plus soap was a bit pricy.
The mug plus soap was a bit pricy.
Black, like my soul.
Black, like my soul.
If only you could smell this.
If only you could smell this.
Dat soapy goodness.
Dat soapy goodness.
Love it!
Love it!

EDIT: Since this post I’ve bought a stand for the brush and razor; here is a pic of it.

Not super fancy, but it gets the job done.
Not super fancy, but it gets the job done.

And that’s it, my new shaving gear! I’m really happy with this purchase even if it was a bit pricy, but it gets the job done and it lasts much longer than those normal disposable razors. So yes I do recommend getting one if you’re looking for a closer shave, plus it’s pretty classy too.

That’s it for me, thanks for reading and I’ll have another post coming out soon that talks about the rest of my Victoria trip! Until then, cya later!

-Nick


Anime Corps is looking forward to another amazing year. Why not take a moment and stop by to check it out?

If you’re on Twitter, be sure to follow me for tweets about all kinds of things. Random pic spams included too.

If you noticed any spelling and/or grammar errors, please let me know so I can fix them. Thanks!

5 comments

  1. Man, and I thought woman paid a lot for their shaving products. I spend just a little less than you, to be honest. And both my brother and my father just use disposable razors, which are a lot cheaper.

    Tough, I have to admit, not too long ago I used to use a man’s brand of razors aswell, the affordable kind. Wich worked fine for me, but if I had to shave something sensitive like my face, I’d probably want to get it silky smooth too. Well, as least your chin is as shiny as a dolphin’s now! (Is that a weird metaphor? Yeah. Definitely.)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I will probably get a set just like that man… I think that it pays off much more than regular ones, the blade can be cleaned after each use, which enhance the life span also.

    Good choice!

    Like

    • It takes a bit of getting used to (I’ve cut myself a couple times recently) but the results are really nice and you’re skin is very smooth after it.

      Like

Be sure to leave a comment!

