Cooking with Nick: Shokugeki no Soma Challenge!

Been a long, long time since you’ve seen anything from this series. Guess it’s time to bring it back.

I’m no chef, that much is for sure, but after watch the anime Shokugeki no Soma for the past 19 weeks, the thought of making food that good is something that’s crossed my mind quite a few times. Well last night it was time to put that idea into action and actually try to make a dish from the anime.

Right then, so the dish selected was what Soma made in episode 1, the “Gotcha!” Pork Roast. And to make this post a little more exciting I’ve included screen shots from the anime and tweets as well. Alright, let’s get started!


[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.47_[2015.08.09_17.02.46]
I wasn’t this fired up about it.
So for starters how exactly are you supposed to make a dish from an anime? Well thankfully there are enough people out there who had the same idea before us and tried to make it themselves. They were also kind enough to post their recipe online too. We based ours off this one I found here. The main thing to take into account is the measurements of everything, as it’s not mentioned in the anime how much of everything he uses.

The first bit was the fun part, preparing all the ingredients to use.

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_11.59_[2015.08.09_17.03.31] [HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.03_[2015.08.09_17.03.38] [HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.05_[2015.08.09_17.03.43]Once again I wasn’t as fired up as Soma was while chopping the onions and mushrooms, but the end result was mostly the same.

IMG_20150808_171345 IMG_20150808_171356I was also doing my best to live tweet this whole experience too, so here are a few tweets from the early stages.

The mashing of the potatoes was next.

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.17_[2015.08.09_17.03.58] [HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.43_[2015.08.09_17.04.33]

Calm your boobs, lady. You'll get your juicy meat soon enough.
Calm your boobs, lady. You’ll get your juicy meat soon enough.

After combining the onions and mushrooms with the potatoes, the next fun part could begin. Now one thing we didn’t do this time around was saute the onions and mushrooms. In the long run it probably would’ve been a better idea, but after some talk we decided not to. If you make this then I suggest sauteing the onions and mushrooms as I think that would give it a nice taste.

So now we could begin to form the potatoes into the loaf like shape and wrap it in bacon. Word of caution though, mashed potatoes are very hot, so let them cool down before touching them. As Soma did, we used thick cut bacon as well. Here’s what it looked like during the wrapping process.

IMG_20150808_180620Another word of advice: when wrapping it make sure to fully cover the potatoes because if you don’t they’ll leak out while in the oven and as you’ll see in the pics from the site we got the recipe from, it looks kinda nasty if that happens.

So as we had some improvise a few things when making this, we weren’t able to get fresh Rosemary so we used some dry Rosemary and just mashed it onto the bacon. Next is actually tying it all up.

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.50_[2015.08.09_17.04.53] IMG_20150808_181907And much like the bacon, be sure to tie it tightly because you want it to stay together when cooking in the oven. So next was to toss this baby into the oven. Oh, don’t actually toss babies into the oven, okay? It’s not good.

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.55_[2015.08.09_17.05.00]

So as this is cooking away, you gotta make the sauce next. The sauce is quite nice I might add, I enjoyed it greatly.

Sake is one of the components to the sauce.
Sake is one of the components to the sauce.

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_12.57_[2015.08.09_17.05.06] [HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.00_[2015.08.09_17.05.12]As this all going on, the smell of the bacon became very evident. Man I love the smell of bacon. I’m sure we all do.

Before long our Gotcha Pork Roast came out of the oven, ready to enter the final stages!

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.14_[2015.08.09_17.05.29] [HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_13.23_[2015.08.09_17.05.42] DSC_0015 DSC_0014 DSC_0016Alright so it didn’t look exactly like it did in the anime, but hey this came out looking pretty good I say. My initial thoughts when seeing this were pretty good. I was very happy we made something that looked pretty close to what Soma made, now I was just looking forward to actually trying this meal out and seeing how it tasted.

I didn’t get any pics of the inside as it wasn’t too exciting; it just looked like normal mashed potatoes. So if you’ve ever had those at some point in your life then yeah that’s what it was like. But as for eating it….

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_14.41_[2015.08.09_17.07.09]b59e5f7db4b239d94661af570b05e7b7[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_18.14_[2015.08.09_17.18.44]

Yeah it wasn’t perfect as I tweeted, but for a first time making it I think it turned out pretty well. A few pointers that I recommend if you plan on attempting this yourself: don’t make it to thick because the juicy taste as mentioned below…

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_16.12_[2015.08.09_17.16.08]…isn’t exactly going to happen. If you have too much of the mashed potatoes then make two small ones instead of one large one, that way the juicy bacon taste will be something you can really taste throughout the whole meal rather than just around the edges. Another pointer is to rotate it while cooking. The bacon was mainly crispy on the top and sides a bit, but the bottom was all chewy and debatably raw in some parts. So for sure rotate it because you’ll get that lovely crispy taste to the bacon all around.

Technically you can't, it's more stylized mashed potatoes with bacon.
Technically you can’t, it’s more stylized mashed potatoes with bacon.

As for the sauce part, it was a nice addition to the meal. I liked it a lot and it also went well if you scooped up some of the pan juices too and pour them over the roast, that adds to the taste. Alternately, you could slit the roast and pour the sauce and/or pan juice into the roast to make sure it’s moist throughout. Being that we made it a bit too thick, the middle became slightly dry, so that would be a good way to counter that, by pouring the sauce into it.

c5b73ee640099778a762e28c56f6b4cb[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_17.30_[2015.08.09_17.17.54] [HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_17.35_[2015.08.09_17.18.01]Yes I did have seconds as I liked it. Plus I was quite hungry having not eating for most of the day. Once again going back to it being too thick, it made for a very filling meal, but if it were less thick then maybe have something on the side to go with it as it probably won’t be as filling then.

So to look back on this whole experience, it certainly was something fun filled and totally something you should try out yourself. It may look strange but give it a chance and you might be surprised. As for my final rating of our version of the Gotcha Pork Roast:

[HorribleSubs] Shokugeki no Soma - 01 [720p].mkv_snapshot_18.43_[2015.08.09_17.19.16]If we were to make this again and changed it up a bit, then I think this could be a really great dish. Right then, so the question I’ll leave you with is this:

I’ve got a few ideas, more recently the karaage from eps 17 & 18, mostly because who doesn’t love fried chicken? Also those two eps made it look way too good and I was drooling through most of ep 18 because I wanted to try some of the karaage so bad. As for if we’ll actually do that, I’m not sure; but if we do then you can expect me to live tweet that whole experience too.


So bringing this to a close now, this whole experience was a super fun one. The most fun I’ve had cooking in a long time. My sister and mom did a lot of the work too so I’m not taking all the credit for this. Honestly it was my sister who was taking the lead for the most part, I helped out where I could.

Okay I’ve said enough now so it’s time to end this. I hope you had a fun time reading this post and I hope it’s inspired your to try to make something from Shokugeki no Soma yourself. If you do then by all means tweet me some pics (@SkyCorps) or link me a blog post about it, I’d love to see how your dish turns out.

That’s it for me now, thanks for reading and I’ll cya later!

-Nick

Gif Links: here and here

Header link


Anime Corps is booming right now! Why not stop by and check it out!

If you’re on Twitter, be sure to follow me for tweets about all kinds of things. Random pic spams included too.

If you noticed any spelling and/or grammar errors, please let me know so I can fix them. Thanks!

7 comments

  1. and i read your post at night but I didn’t expect you will cook for real and post it.
    i’m jealous you can cooking. :3

    your pork roast is dry i think, in sns anime, it looks like there’s sauce in the dish too much so I like your cooking more than pork roast in anime.

    Like

    • When we made it the second time it was much better and not dry at all. First time I wasn’t expecting it to be great, but once we worked out the problems it got better from there on.

      Like

Be sure to leave a comment!

