1 Year Later with Love Live! School Idol Festival

I’m too far gone….

About 1 year ago, give or take a couple days, I downloaded the app Love Live! School Idol Festival (LLSIF) from the Play Store and began a journey that would consume my every waking moment. Of course at the time I didn’t realize that, but even if I did I don’t think that would change my feelings about it. So after a solid year of playing this game till my fingers are cramping, it’s time to take a look back and reflect on it. This won’t be a review, rather it’s just my thoughts on the game after playing it for a whole year.

It should come as no surprise that I’m a huge Love Live fan. I love the anime, music, characters it’s such a great franchise and my love for it probably won’t ever cease. Even before I bought my Sony Xperia Z2 Tablet I knew I’d be getting this game because it’s a must have for any Liver. So right off the start I struggled greatly with it. Maybe you know it already but if not I’ll tell you now, I’m no gamer. I’ve never owned a console nor been heavily into PC gaming either. Sure I’ve played some games in my 21 years alive, but nothing on a constant basis. So now having this game, let alone a rhythm game, was a whole new concept. I knew that if I was going to get good then I’d have to put time and effort into it, but like I said it was a struggle off the start. This post gives insight into my first impressions of LLSIF and I invite you to read it as it’s not only a funny post but taking into consideration how far I’ve come it’s crazy to think that I had such a big issue starting out.

So now that I’ve played it for a year, I’ve gotten much better at it and now I can play on expert without breaking a sweat. Sure there are songs I have some trouble with, but I can usually get a full combo in a few tries. What I’m having trouble with right now are the Super Hard songs. Yeah those give me some issues as they’re just a bit too fast for me. I know I’ll get good at them in time, but as it is right now I can still fail them and lose 25 LP, something that I don’t like doing. But instead of looking at these with a negative view, I’m trying my best and while it’ll still be some time before I can get a full combo on a Super Hard song, with enough practice I’ll get it at some point.

In the opening paragraph I said this game was something that “would consume my every waking moment” and honestly it really has. Ever since I’ve gotten really good at it I play actively and go overtime during events to make sure I get the rewards. Sure it takes time but doesn’t anything you want to get good at take time too? Already being super obsessed with Love Live, this addition to my obsession has only made me love this series more and it’s something I can safely say has consumed my every waking moment.

Alright then, so lets take a look at some stats. In the year since starting LLSIF I’ve risen to Rank 125, and have gotten a grand total of 164 different cards. Here’s a quick look at my profile and current member list.

Got the latest Maki. So cute!
Got the latest Maki. So cute!
Screenshot_2015-08-22-01-33-23
4 URs total, but 3 of them are promo ones. The Nico UR is what makes my Pure Team so solid.
Screenshot_2015-08-22-01-33-30
Still wish I was able to idolize that Rin SR. It bothers me till this day. I fell short of T2 in that event sadly…
Screenshot_2015-08-22-01-33-37
A bunch of Rs here waiting for something to happen. Thankfully something will be happening soon.
Screenshot_2015-08-22-01-33-44
Tail end of the Rs. A few of the new ones are in there too, unidolized for now. I should scout more.

And if you’re wondering about my teams, here’s what they look like. I don’t really care about placing them in certain positions to coincide with song notes, rather I just put them where I think is a good place for them to be. It’s worked out thus far so why should I change what works? I’m always open to suggestions though, so if you’ve got any then send ’em along.

Screenshot_2015-08-22-01-48-21
Team A: Pure
Screenshot_2015-08-22-01-48-26
Team B: Cool (main team right now)
Screenshot_2015-08-22-01-48-32
Team C: Smile

So yeah that’s a quick look at my stats and cards. When the current event is over, the Ghost Maki, I’ll have a sexy idolized SR Maki to add to my collection too, something that I’m eagerly looking forward to.

Overall though LLSIF is a game I’ve enjoyed greatly, frustrating as it may have been, but after a solid year of playing it I can’t go back now. I’ve put so much hard work and effort into getting where I am now and hopefully next year I’ll be over Rank 200 and holding a UR Maki too. One can only dream.

So to wrap this up, LLSIF is a game a highly recommend to any Love Live fan, or any rhythm game fan, as I’m sure you’ll enjoy it as much as I have. Before I leave I’ll quickly mention that my blogging friend Deven has written up lots of guides and event posts for LLSIF so I encourage you to check them out for some further insight into the game. Also if you’re new and struggling with events, check out Deven’s guide on how to get the most out of your event experience.

Alright that’s it for me, thanks for reading this post I hope you enjoyed it and I’ll cya next time!

-Nick


Anime Corps is enjoying a fun summer, why not stop by and check it out?

If you’re on Twitter, be sure to follow me for tweets about all kinds of things. Random pic spams included too.

If you noticed any spelling and/or grammar errors, please let me know so I can fix them. Thanks!

4 comments

Be sure to leave a comment!

