Countdown to NaNoWriMo!

Do or do not, there is no try.

So as some of you may know, I’m going to be taking part in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) this year and what that means is that I’ll have to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days. No sweat. Yeah so on paper that sounds tough and well yeah it is going to be tough. I’ve joined a group of others who will be taking part in this challenge as well, so there will be the encouragement from them as November grinds on. I’ve never done something like this before, hell I’ve never actually completed any story that I’ve ever started, so now being faced with the challenge of writing one in a month… yeah I’m nervous about that. But if all my planning pays off then I’ll hit the ground running and never look back.

As for the story I’m going to write, it’s going to be a murder mystery set in a high school where a student from a rival school is suddenly found dead on campus and the body is displayed in a very… disturbing way. Our two lead characters begin to look into this murder only to discover a sinister secret about their school. I won’t say anymore as I love to keep a tight hold on my work and what the story is, but I’m excited to write it and I hope someone will enjoy reading it once it’s finished. I’ve still got lots of planning to do, characters and the finer points to the plot, but for once I’ve got a really solid outline of the story and it’s not looking like my motivation will die off half way through. Even though I’ve got things planned out and a group of people all rooting for one another to reach the 50k goal, it’s going to be a struggle as I’m not the most self disciplined person out there so forcing myself to focus solely on writing everyday might be a huge test for me. Whatever happens though I’m really going to put all my energy into this story and hope like hell I’ll walk away with a completed story under my belt and my sanity somewhat intact.

So as this is a month long challenge that involves writing every single day, I’ll be easing up on blog work, namely for Anime Corps and my weekly reviews of Gakusen Toshi Asterisk.ย As much as I want to continue writing weekly reviews, I just don’t know right now what it’s going to be like and how I’ll be by the first Saturday of November. If I’m feeling good and things are coming along well then I might write a very short review, but if I’m having trouble then no review will be written. Hell I probably won’t even have time to watch anime as that’s 24 minutes I could spend writing rather than watching a new ep of something. I’ll have more about this in my ep 4 review for Asterisk though so be sure to stop by on Saturday and check that out.

Alright then, under 2 weeks till this begins and holy shit am I stressing. I’m both excited for this to start yet nervous that I’ll fail. Like I said my track record with stories I’ve written is 0-7 right now, so I’m hoping this will be the one to finally break that losing streak and get me back on my feet and ready to write again. So that’s all I’ve pretty much got to say about this right now. If you want to cheer me on, send your encouraging words (and Maki pictures!!) to @SkyCorps as I’ll still be checking Twitter throughout the month.

Fight-o!
Fight-o!

Okay I’ve got a lot of work to still do, so I’ll be on my way. Thanks for reading and please wish me luck come November!

-Nick


Anime Corps has entered the new fall season. Why not stop by and check out what we’re up to?

If youโ€™re on Twitter, be sure to follow me for tweets about all kinds of things. Random pic spams included too.

If you noticed any spelling and/or grammar errors, please let me know so I can fix them. Thanks!

2 comments

  1. ALL THE BEST! ๐Ÿ™‚ I hope you do great, inshAllah. I wanted to participate too, but school takes up most of my time and I don’t want to struggle all throughout November instead of getting work done.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Now on to the actual important stuff. It’s nearly November so that means NaNoWriMo will be starting soon. I still really would like to continue writing weekly reviews for this anime, especially now that it’s getting good, but this story takes number one priority and it will until I’ve completed it. My current plan is to write very short reviews for Asterisk as I need to reserve most of my time to story writing, but if I’m having trouble doing this then I’ll put all Asterisk reviews on hold until November is over. I’m sorry for doing this but as I really want to give it my all for this story writing challenge, I’ll do whatever it takes to complete it even if that means taking a break from anime. I hope you understand and I promise that if it does come to that, I’ll let you know via Twitter (@SkyCorps). Okay then, that’s all I’ve gotta say about this. For further information about this please check out my other blog as I wrote a post about it. […]

    Like

Be sure to leave a comment!

