NaNoWriMo 2015 After Thoughts

We did it!

Hello and welcome back to another post on this seemingly dead blog. Nick here as always and today I’m talking about my experience doing NaNoWriMo this year.

Yeah!
Yeah!

For those who don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, it’s a story writing challenge where you write a 50,000 word story during the month of November. It sounds like a lot, and yes it is, but with lots of planning and self discipline it’s easy to pull off. I went into November scared and worrying about whether or not I’d be able to meet the 50k requirement or even be able to write a story period. It started off slow but once I got into it and really started to enjoy writing, all my worries went away and it was easy to get into the right mind set. So after working hard every day, I got to the required 50k words by November 21st, a few days ahead of my original goal of the 25th. With the extra days to still write, I pushed my word count to over 60k and finished with 60,616 words.

My story currently is far from over though, but 60k words was an excellent way to jump start it and get me back in the writing mindset. I really missed how much I enjoyed writing and for me personally NaNoWriMo was something that really helped me rediscover the joy of writing and just how much fun it really can be. I enjoyed writing about the adventures my characters were going on, the mystery they’re trying to solve and all the interactions they have along the way. By the time I’m finally finished story I can look back and hopefully be proud at completing my first ever story. As for what happens after that, I’m considering publishing it at some point but right now I’m just focusing on completing it. One thing at a time.

As easy as I’ve put it, honestly there were days where I just didn’t feel like writing or my computer was acting up so much that it was impossible to do anything. As any big commitment is not without challenges, NaNoWriMo threw a few at me but thankfully I was able to overcome them and power my way to victory. Dwindling motivation was a tough one to overcome as that’s something that’s lead to the downfall of every story I’ve written before. With the help of my followers on Twitter and their words of encouragement (along with pics of naked Utaha) I was able to get over that problem. The computer issues that I faced were really annoying though as my laptop, which for the record isn’t even mine, is having some hard drive problems and could die at any moment. That also became a means of motivation for me as I didn’t want to have it die and be stuck with no means to write my story. But somehow it’s held out long enough for me to type over 60k words and I’m very grateful it’s done this.

So to bring this to a close, yes I totally recommend this to anyone who enjoys writing as it’s a really great way to challenge yourself to write a story in a month. I had a fun time this past November and for sure I’ll be doing this again in November 2016. My question to you is: will you also take part? You’ve got a year to think it over, plenty of time to plan out a story. Believe me, by the time November is over it’s a great feeling to look back and say “yes, I wrote a 50k word story in a month.”

Now that November is over it’s time I resume my regular blog work here and on Anime Corps. I’ve just spent the past month writing hard, but I’ve got a lot more writing to do still on my blogs. So yeah I’m back from my month long break and ready to continue blog work.

Thanks for reading, congrats to everyone who took part in NaNoWriMo this year, and I’ll cya guys in the next post!

-Nick

3 comments

Be sure to leave a comment!

