3 Years Later

 

Pixiv Link
Pixiv Link

Is this actually happening?

Hello and welcome back to The SkyCorps Blog! Nick here as always and today I’ve got something special for you guys, the 3rd year anniversary post!

In all honesty it feels much longer than 3 years since I started this blog. So much has happened in my life during these past 3 years, it’s hard to believe that only 3 years have past. But as this isn’t a time to look back at all the depressing parts, I won’t dwell on that rather I’ll look ahead at the future of this blog and where I want to take it. Before I begin that discussion though, I feel it’s appropriate to say thank you for sticking around this long and putting up with me writing about trivial matters a couple times a month. To be honest I don’t really expect people to even still read things on this blog when I post them, but there are still a few views trickling in each day so I guess it’s not totally dead. But yeah, if you’ve been here since the very start or just stumbled across this last week, thanks for continuing to come back and read my new posts.

My goal for this blog in 2016 is to return to its roots and rediscover the joy of blogging I had when I first started. Through the past 3 years that joy for blogging has all but disappeared as I rarely post here anymore. Not to say that Anime Corps is the reason I’ve given up on this blog, rather just nothing interesting to write about comes to mind. Sure there are those times late at night when I’m lying in bed that I come up with ideas to blog about, but the next morning when I think back on them I realize how stupid that idea was. Nevertheless I’m going to really try hard to get a new post out each week as I feel that’s a goal that I can easily attain. If it’s not working out then I’ll move to every other week but I don’t want to go any further than that as I know I’ll never get around to it then.

Now that I actually have a new computer that works perfectly well I can return to not only writing here on my blog but also on my stories too. Currently I’m still working on my story I started for NaNoWriMo, it’s very slow progress but it’s coming along. I mentioned that I might show you a bit of it at some point, but I’ve got nothing just yet I want to show so sorry to disappoint but I’ll have something soon. Speaking of writing I’ve recently come up with another new idea that might be what I’ll write for NaNoWriMo this year, but it’s still in the very early concept stages and has lots of crafting left before it becomes something I could even begin writing. But as it’s still early on I’m trying not to let that take up too much of my time as I’ve already got a story I should be working on right now.

I mentioned getting a new computer, that’s something years in the making that’s finally happened. After using a laptop for the past… well very long time I finally upgraded to a brand new desktop and so far I’m loving it very much. With this upgrade I’ve also dabbled in the PC gaming world a bit via Steam and yeah it’s a dangerous world to get into as I’ve already spent hours playing the one game I’ve got so far. If I don’t watch myself carefully I can see all my money being put towards games. I guess that’s another reason to get a job so I don’t have to worry about that. I’m debating getting another game right now, but as I have to pay for my second Maki nendo soon (yeah another one is on the way) I’m torn between paying for waifu or buying games. The choice should be obvious who gets the higher priority though. As for what my new computer looks like, here are the pics from the unboxing last month.

In terms of specs it’s got the following:

Intel Core i5-6400 @ 2.7 GHz

8GB RAM

1TB HDD

AMD Radeon R9 370 2GB

DVD optical drive

Windows 10 64 bit

So compared to a custom built rig this is pretty meh, but for what I need it for it runs well, I can watch anime (finally 1080p BD stuff too!) it plays games well and it’s pretty fast too. Of course I’ll get something better in the future but for the sale this thing was on at Best Buy during boxing day, it was impossible to say no to this. Plus at that time the laptop had died.

I guess this is turning into an update post rather than year in review, but technically all these things I’m talking about have some bearing on this blog in one way or another. But to summarize this all, the past 3 years of this blog have been a bumpy ride. But despite the things I’ve dealt with along the way I’ve kept this blog mostly alive and continued to post every once and a while. Like I said, I’m making it my goal to post once a week from now on as that should help get me back into the blogging life and hopefully rediscover the long lost joy of blogging.

So to bring this to a close now, thank you for sticking around and putting up with these posts. A promise I made to myself when I started was that I would never give up on this blog and even though it’s been months between posts I’ve never stopped thinking about it and the thought of closing it has never crossed my mind. I’ve seen far too many blogs that were once great just up and close shop one day. Yeah I’m sure there are a million reasons why that person did that, but even so seeing such an amazing blog suddenly stop is anyways frustrating. Despite all the things I’ve been through over the past 3 years, I didn’t ever once think about closing this blog as back then it was all I had to keep me going. It’s not as essential now as it was back then, but nevertheless I’m not going to let this peacetime bring and end to my blog. January 16th 2017, you can expect a 4th year anniversary post that will be a lot more lively than this one was.

Alright then, I’ve rambled long enough and I’m sure your bored as hell now. Thanks for sticking with me for these past years, thanks for the Likes and comments, and thanks for just taking the time to read these posts. Come by next year as I’ll have so much more to talk about, or at least that’s the plan. Anyways, I hope to see you then.

Take care!

-Nick

Header Link

5 comments

  1. Congrats 3 years my friend good on you for wanting to go back to old roots and a new computer is a great way to start that off I’m sure you’ll relight that blogging flame inside of you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Be sure to leave a comment!

