Off the Island with Nick: Change of Scenery

I don’t have anything more to say about posts coming out on Monday.

So last Thursday (30th) I had the chance to leave Vancouver Island for the day and find out there is more to the world than this 460 kilometer long island. I haven’t left this island for over a year and frankly it was a much needed trip. Granted it wouldn’t be a peaceful one being that no trip with dad ever is, but I tried to make the most out of it and just enjoy the change of scenery for the day.

As always it’s an early morning for these day trips but I was able to catch some sleep in the car ride to the ferry. The ferry ride leaving the Island was slightly stressful as the one we wanted to catch was full (thanks to big info signs on the highway) so we went into town to catch the other one, which wasn’t as full. After a small wait we could finally board the ferry and be on our way.

Arriving at the terminal.
Arriving at the terminal.
There's the ferry!
There’s the ferry!

Boarding I was able to get some pics from the upper deck.

Smaller ferries to the Gulf Islands.
Smaller ferries to the Gulf Islands.

DSC_0241

Bye Vancouver Island!
Bye Vancouver Island!

As the camera on my tablet isn’t that good, I brought along a real camera and got some better pics during the voyage across the Strait of Georgia. Take a look.

Vancouver Island becoming smaller and smaller.
Vancouver Island becoming smaller and smaller.

DSC00885 DSC00888

Weird barge thing, probably some secret government project.
Weird barge thing, probably some secret government project.

One of my favorite parts about the Departure Bay to Horseshoe Bay trip is that you can see Vancouver in the distance as you approach. Such a cool sight in person, so I’m sorry if these pics don’t seem all that amazing.

There she is!
There she is!
A bit zoomed in
A bit zoomed in
From the upper observation deck's enclosed area.
From the upper observation deck’s enclosed area.

DSC00899

Here’s on the final approach into Horseshoe Bay.

DSC_0253 DSC_0254 DSC_0256 DSC_0255DSC_0254 DSC_0260

From the actual camera.

DSC00904 DSC00905 DSC00906 DSC00907

Almost there!
Almost there!
DSC00911
Waterfront property

Back to the car now. I like this pic.

In the heart of the ferry
In the heart of the ferry

The drive into the city is a nice one through West Vancouver, here are some shots as we’re approaching the city proper.

Across some bridge I can't remember the name of.
Across some bridge I can’t remember the name of.

DSC00918 DSC00919

Into the city!
Into the city!

Due to so many buses and trucks it was hard getting any decent pics including that of Trump Tower, but I was able to get a few here and there.

The tall buildings of downtown.
The tall buildings of downtown.

DSC00922

Some weird art thing
Some weird art thing

Another highlight for me personally was getting to drive by Rogers Arena, which is where my Vancouver Canucks play. See you boys in October!

Rogers Arena!
Rogers Arena!
BC Place, home of the BC Lions CFL team
BC Place, home of the BC Lions CFL team

The Science Center is another very cool looking building, I was able to get a couple pics of it from afar.

DSC00926 DSC00927

Car spotting is something I wanted to try to do more this time around but I failed so bad as my head was on a swivel all the time and most chances the nice cars were passing by too fast or something was obstructing my view. Mostly the latter. I did however get a pic of a cool Land Rover Defender and a devilish Maserati. As for some other cars I saw: Aston Martin V8 Vantage, Jaguar F-Type R (finally!) Mercedes Benz S63 AMG Coupe (so sexy), Mercedes Benz AMG GT-S (the best), numerous Porsche, Land/Range Rovers, BMW, Audi, and the car I saw the most was easily the Tesla Model S. Good to see so many people going green! I was hoping to see a McLaren or something really amazing but sadly not on this trip.

DSC00929 DSC00930

The middle half of the day wasn’t anything too exciting, mostly just getting lost, listening to my parents argue, my dad talking around conspiracy theories, politics and racism, and of course all the bad driving in which I thought I’d never live to write this post. We did stop for lunch at some Mexican place. I can usually eat a big meal but this burrito gave me a serious run for my money, in the end I finished it though and didn’t have to eat much for the rest of the day.

IMG_20160630_135726

Before stopped to get this burrito we noticed these girls with a lemonade stand so we stopped to get some. They also had watermelon, which was nice on a hot day. No pics of this because taking pics of someone’s 6 year old girl in a swimsuit is a one way ticket to jail. Plus I needed to save the battery for something worth remembering.

After lunch we made our way out to my dad’s project, the main reason we were going over to Vancouver, and during this nearly 2 hour trip we spent pretty much 99% of it lost and much more of what I mentioned above. So yeah being stuck in a car with this for 2 hours gave me quite the headache. On a positive note, I did see 4 different movie shoots happening, Vancouver is known for having lots of movies being filmed there. And before you ask, no I did not go over and check the set out so I don’t know what they were filming.

After making it out to Surrey and dealing with the project we finally made our way back. Some nice pics coming off another bridge I can’t remember the name of.

Vancouver in the distance.

A bit blurry, sorry.
A bit blurry, sorry.

While these pics didn’t turn out so good, we did go through a tunnel on route back to the ferry. Here’s how it went.

DSC00933 DSC00934 DSC00935

With the day pretty much finished we headed back to the ferry, this time an extremely stressful trip back. Some pics from the final drive into Tsawwassen. Don’t try to pronounce it.

DSC_0261 DSC_0262 DSC_0263

If you follow me on Twitter than you’ll already know about the ferry terminal fun that happened. But to make a long story short, the guy in front of us had his truck break down in line and with the ferry coming soon if he didn’t move his truck we might miss the boat home. Thankfully a tow truck arrived and they somehow moved the broken truck out of the way in time. My tweets make it sound much more frantic as I was pretty worn out from a long day. Here are the pics of that whole throw down though.

IMG_20160630_200117 IMG_20160630_201334 IMG_20160630_202448 IMG_20160630_202728

Gotta have your greens too. Ferry terminal snack.

IMG_20160630_193137

Finally the ferry arrived and we could leave the mainland to return home.

IMG_20160630_210123

Goodbye Vancouver
Goodbye Vancouver

So yeah that’s kind of a general overview of my trip to the mainland. There are other details that I left out simply because they’re just not too exciting or aren’t worth talking about. But looking at the pros and cons of the trip, the pros just outweigh the cons and I can say that yes this was a good trip and I’m happy I went on it.

Vancouver is still so unknown to me even if I did live there during my early days. I’d love to spend a week or so there just looking around and seeing what’s happening there. I’m not used to such a big and bustling city so being dropped into that for a day is so overwhelming. Plus I’d like to have a meetup with some of my followers who live over there and there usually never is anytime during these day trips for that.


So yeah I think I’ll wrap things up here. Thanks for reading, feel free to leave a comment if you want to as well.

That’s all for me, so I’ll see you in the next post!

-Nick

**Pixiv Link**

Save

11 comments

  1. Wow not leaving your island for over a year I can see why you needed a break, I loved seeing all your photos of vancouver. It looks such a beautiful place to me and reading peoples goings on in life or days out are my favorite times of personal posts to read, you should follow my personal blog it is where I don’t post much about anime haha lol
    I am glad you got to go somewhere different 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is about the most traveling I get to do. I’d love to see more places around the country and world too, but circumstances prevent that from happening. One day I hope to travel more.

      Yeah it is nice to have non-anime posts every now and then. I didn’t know you also had a personal blog, could I have a link to that I’d like to check it out.

      Liked by 1 person

Be sure to leave a comment!

