4 Years Later

Am I a blogging veteran now?

Well I made it, somehow, to my 4th year of blogging here on WordPress. I know I say this every year, but damn it does not feel like it’s only been 4 years. It feels like so much more given everything that’s happened in the last 4 years of my life, but apparently it’s just been 4 years. I guess I should start off by saying thank you if you’ve actually had the patience to stay with me for the last 4 years, I know I would’ve given up long ago, but if you’ve been here since day 1 or since yesterday, thanks for coming back.

You know usually at a time like this it’s where you look back on your years of blogging and talk about all the good times and how much fun you had. Maybe even link a few older noteworthy posts and talk about them too. But for me I don’t want to do that. It’s a mix of just not wanting to bring up things from the past and because they’re a little embarrassing too. I was some edgy 19 year old when I started this blog and while it may not come across too much in the posts I can remember it clearly when I look back on my older posts. For the most part I don’t mind feeling nostalgic about things here and there, but this blog is a rare exception where I don’t like feeling that.

That aside, what can I look back on and feel good about? Well I have kept this blog mostly active for the last 4 years, even if some posts were months apart, but it was always my goal to never give up on this blog. I think after all these years I can say that I’ve been able to keep that goal alive and well. I mentioned briefly in the anniversary post for lat year that come January 16th 2017 I’d have a much more lively post and while it didn’t start off like that it’s about to get better now.

Probably the biggest accomplishment I can say happened in the last year was finally getting a job. I’ve mentioned in before in previous posts and while it may not seem like that big a deal, for me it’s huge. I’ve been wanting this for ages and finally being able to say I’ve accomplished that goal is pretty special. Plus I enjoy actually having money now too. But as fun as this job is, I fear it might be coming to a close soon. The business I’m working for is up for sale and last I heard someone made a deposit on it, meaning closing the deal could happen soon. If that does indeed happen I’ll most likely be out of work and back to looking for something. At least I’ll have plenty to put down for work experience.

But back to the blogging aspect of this post, since we’re here to talk about that and not my personal life, I don’t think I really was able to live up to the promise I had for bringing this blog back to its roots and getting the type of posts out that I wanted. It’s something that seemingly continues to allude me but I will be working on that once more this year. Weekly posts seemed to be a good idea, granted I had something to talk about, but for the most part I was able to do a half decent job with that. If I do return to doing this I won’t have a set day mostly likely as that didn’t work out too well, rather I’ll just aim to have it out something during the week. As for when that’ll start… I’m not sure, but I’ll work on that in the coming while and see what I can put together.

I mentioned this in a previous post that I was thinking about taking a year off blogging on Anime Corps to focus on other writing projects and because I felt it was just becoming too much of a chore to write weekly reviews. I love the editorials that we’ve got going now, Tsuyuki always having something great to talk about, and we’ve also got a new guy, Nero as we’ll call him, who is writing some reviews this season too. Going into its third year, Anime Corps is still something I constantly think about and where to take it from here. Not that there is anything wrong with it, I’ve operated under the “if it’s not broken, don’t fix it” motto and so far I don’t see any glaring problems with it. The purpose I had for it was to be an anime review blog and since it’s inception, launch, and right down to today it’s continued to be just that. Granted there were refinements made along the way, new writers brought in and different content being posted, but at its core it’s still the anime review blog I want it to be. Maybe it’s just because I’m seeing it as such a chore to write reviews now, but I know at some point I want to take the next step with it make it something more. Maybe that will be the goal for this year, we’ll see.

Well I think that’s going to be it for this post, kinda last minute really as I forgot the actual anniversary date is the 16th, not the 18th like it is today. I’m probably missing things I wanted to say, but for the sake of getting this out now and not wasting another day I just wrote down what I could think up. Like I mentioned at the outset, if you’ve been here since day 1 or yesterday, thanks for coming back and continuing to read what little I post here. I’ll try to get more content out here this year so hopefully I can actually live up to that goal and not fall behind like last time.

That’s gonna be all from me. Thanks for reading and I hope a year from now, January 16th 2018 I can have even more to talk about. I’d love to see you back then too.

Take care guys!

-Nick

**Header Link**

Save

Save

Be sure to leave a comment!

